Off To A Rainy Start

Today officially begins my marathon training! I am pretty much following Hal Higdon’s Novice 2 Training Schedule, but instead of taking two days off, I plan on adding an extra day of cross training (to feed my addiction to spin). Also, if my shin splint starts acting up again, I may replace one of my shorter mid-week runs with a spin class until my achy left shin finds its happy place. Thankfully, frozen bags of peas and dixie cup blocks of ice do wonders on that little bugger.

Yesterday, during my Sunday of solitude, I was able to check a few things of off my never ending “To Do List”, one of which was making a Google Docs spreadsheet with my planned marathon training.  Ch-ch-check it out: Tay’s Marathon Training. 😉 I had seen Caitlin of Healthy Tipping Point and Meganerdruns make these spreadsheets and definitely felt the need to “borrow” their idea. Currently, I just have my training scribbled into my beautiful Coach planner (a wedding gift from the Hubs that I make very good use of, if only I had the gift of nice handwriting to go with it) as well as laid out in my Google Calendar. This document lets me look at my running and nothing else, which works well when I have a million and one things going on.

I can't hardly wait to run 18 miles the day after Christmas in Connecticut.

I can't hardly wait to run 18 miles the day after Christmas in Connecticut.

Today, I had planned to attend a meet-up with the Fayetteville Running Club, but it was canceled so I ran from home. Of course, I dilly-dallied and by the time I was dressed and ready it had started to rain. But, it was refreshing to run in the cooler, wet weather. I worried that my iPod Shuffle would get ruined so I tucked that little nifty device into my shorts. Voila! Problem solved. I had set out for 3 miles, according to my training schedule, but it ended up being 4.5. Might as well run until I get back to the house, right? Right.

Again, my laptop is still not working with Garmin technology, but here are the stats:

Distance: 4.53 miles

Total Time: 36:35

Ave/Max HR: 179/192

Ave/Max Pace: 8:04/6:38

Mile 1: 8:23

Mile 2: 8:02

Mile 3: 7:53

Mile 4: 8:07

Last .53: 4:09

Not too shabby…

I had a glorious breakfast of oats, almond milk, ground flax seeds, cinnamon, almond butter, and a sprinkling of Kashi Honey Sunshine (that stuff is like crack).

With this lighting, it may seem like I eat in a dungeon.

With this lighting, it may seem like I eat in a dungeon.

Lunch included Mary’s Crack and a bag of steamed veggies (as well as some dry roasted edamame):

May not look appealing, but I promise, for micro-veggies it does the trick.

May not look appealing, but I promise, for micro-veggies it does the trick.

 Not my Sticks & Twigs, but almost as good!

Not my Sticks & Twigs, but almost as good!

The Hubs came back from trekking the Appalachian Trail with his brother over the weekend, and I was happy to be reunited…. with Denver! 😉

Denver missed his crazy mom, or maybe he was just resting his head?

Denver missed his crazy mom, or maybe he was just resting his head?

Since the Hubs was home and had eaten tuna packets for 4 days, he had a serious hankering for chinese. I already had a tuna steak in the fridge with my name on it (as well as directions for my grillmaster to cook it for me) so we had a nice variety in our humble abode.

Tuna steak with low-sodium soy sauce and wasabi (or paint thinner, according to Hubs).

Tuna steak with low-sodium soy sauce and wasabi (or paint thinner, according to Hubs).

Chopsticks with faces - a much used gift from Mom and Dad!

Chopsticks with faces - a much used gift from Mom and Dad!

And my salad monsters – one for tonight and one for tomorrow (please do not mind the high class generic tupperware, I like to shake the heck out of my salads). If I can remember it all, this included romaine lettuce, orange bell pepper, mushrooms, a bit of red onion, persian cucumbers (thanks Ash), tomato, banana pepper, hemp seed, nutritional yeast, salsa, and a dollop of hummus:

I can't make a salad for one...

I can't make a salad for one...

It was delish. I am worn out – a three day weekend does that to you, right? Since Brewski and Piper have birthdays this weekend, I will leave you with their beautiful faces!

Brewski the BT and Piper the Puggle say "cookie?"

Goodnight!

~ Tay

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Off To A Rainy Start

  1. Miki Leighton

    I love you!! Your pictures are wonderful…I miss all of my grandkids!! I am happy that Jared came home safe and Denver looks very happy to see you!! Miss you girl!! Sweet Dreams!!

Leave a Reply

