Tay Does 10!

Today marks my first double-digit run (of my life) for my half marathon/marathon training. I can’t seem to get my Garmin 305 to work with my computer (when I insert the disc my old laptop has an instantaneous fatal error) but here are the stats directly from the biggest device ever to grace my wrist:

10.00 miles 1:33:33

Average: 9.22, Max: 7.18

Mile 1: 8:48

Mile 2: 8:41

Mile 3: 9:08

Mile 4: 9:32

Mile 5: 9:29

Mile 6: 9:45

Mile 7: 10:06

Mile 8: 9:36

Mile 9: 9:22

Mile 10: 9:08

I need to do a better job pacing myself. This run was a struggle. I procrastinated all morning and didn’t leave until close to 11:30, and I expected it to be cool out. Not the case. It was humid and mid 80s. By mile 3 I was pooped.

No, I don't always run in the same shirt.

No, I don't always run in the same shirt.

I felt like death when I got back home, so I didn’t even think to take the classic post-run pic, but here I am in my pre-run morning makeup free glory. I cringe posting photos such as this, but at this point I have about two blog readers, so I shouldn’t worry. 😉

I decided I am going to stick to long runs on post. There is absolutely no shoulder on the roads around us and it is way too hard to jump to the grass/sand when I think a car doesn’t see me. I run for my health – both mental and physical – not to get killed. Need to keep this in mind. I actually drove my run today prior to setting out on foot to make sure I wasn’t going to get shot by a stray bullet on the “new” roads. Good thing I did this because one of the roads on Map My Run was dirt,  private drive. Nice. If I tried to run this road – I am going to bet the bullet wouldn’t have been a stray!

There is exactly 5 weeks until my half marathon, Richmond Half, and I am not nervous. I tend to be a very stressed out person (any tips for this?) so this is a little odd. It is probably due to the fact that I signed up for the Myrtle Beach Marathon a few days ago (had to beat the price hike), and this seems like a much more daunting task. Training through the winter – yikes. Thankfully, living in North Carolina means mild winters. I often doubt myself – I am not a runner, I ran my first 5k last Thanksgiving (with my Daddy!), so why am I doing this, with everything else going on in my life?

It all comes down to the Bucket List.

I have to do a marathon – I have to prove to myself (and no one else) that I can do it. More importantly, that I can train to do it. Thankfully, for both the half and the full, I will have family there to support me. This means the world to me. Running is a solitary sport, especially for me – not many of my friends want to go for a 10 mile run on the weekend, so the fact that I am training for a goal that allows me to see my family is very exciting.

Speaking of family, my mom and sister paid me a visit last weekend and it was a weekend to remember, for sure. They helped me hand out over 10,000 pies to our troops on Saturday, had a delicious dinner (the best meal I have had in NC) at 195 in Southern Pines that evening, and then headed to Raleigh on Sunday for a little REI, Trader Joes, and the Raleigh Farmers’ Market.  We then made a glorious dinner with my baked zucchini slices, chicken thighs marinated/grilled by Chef Hubs, and a huuuuge salad beast thanks to Mom and Smash.

My salmon with guacamole and salad with gilled zucchini - yumm!

My salmon with guacamole and salad with grilled zucchini - yumm!

Mom loving her sweet little lamb!

Mom loving her sweet little lamb!

The Hubs really nifty German beer, which ended up being FREE!

The Hubs really nifty German beer, which ended up being FREE!

Salad the Hubs and I shared, though that is him forking it - he doesn't care much for food photos.

Salad the Hubs and I shared, though that is him forking it - he doesn't care much for food photos.

My beautiful mom and sister at the Jefferson Inn.

My beautiful mom and sister at the Jefferson Inn.

My mom got the Hubs to show his teeth - good job!

My mom got the Hubs to show his teeth - good job!

If you happen to find yourself in Southern Pines, NC, please check out the Jefferson Inn. It is the perfect low key place for a drink. I sat on the outdoor patio and thought how nice life would be if I had a patio like that in my backyard. 😉

Since my Mom brought her to two dogs, we had a total of five dogs at my house! Of course, this means dog peektures!

Tres Leightons... missing Dad!

Tres Leightons... missing Dad!

Little Miss Maya loves to visit NC.

Little Miss Maya loves to visit NC.

Brewski giving his mom (ME!) the pathetic look.

Brewski giving his mom (ME!) the pathetic look.

Sometimes Piper can be cute - case in point.

Sometimes Piper can be cute - case in point.

And a couple pictures of my last meal – it has been downhill ever since!

Chopped salad reminds me of PA. Don't mind my classy bowl.

Chopped salad reminds me of PA. Don't mind my classy bowl.

My notorious ZUCH!

My notorious ZUCH!

Ok, well maybe if I blog more often I won’t have to recap a week ago. I am off to enjoy my Weekend of Solitude, which  I am enjoying a lot less than I thought I would. Oh well – lots to do tomorrow. Night Night!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Tay Does 10!

  1. Ashley

    So proud of you for running 10 miles! Miss you bunches.

  2. Miki Leighton

    I love your blog!! We did have a great time last weekend!! I can’t wait to visit you and Ashley in Richmond next month! We will have a blast! Keep up the good work and run Baby RUN!! Love YOU

  3. You’re going to do great at your upcoming races!!

    I’ve been on the lookout for a new marathon to do and that one sounds great… what will the weather be like in February? Coming from a Chicagoan, Myrtle Beach will look pretty appealing come February!!

  4. Ok, I just wrote something and I think it deleted it, if it posted then sorry to be redundant…

    Anyway you will do great at your upcoming races! And I’m so jealous of the fact that you are running Myrtle Beach, I’m intrigued and am now considering signing up myself! 😉

    • You should sign up! Although I was so bummed to hear I can’t use my iPod since it isn’t a closed race. I tried running today – only 4 miles – sans iPod and it just wasn’t as easy. I was impressed you did the first 20 without it!

Leave a Reply

